Forum
SEARCH FORUM:
Facebook
Twitter
Googleplus
MsElaneous
New_user MsElaneous is new to Chictopia!

Make Her Feel Welcome with Chic Points
10 points - Become a fan
5 points - Vote her photos into the Style Gallery
1 point - Post a comment on her photos

When MsElaneous reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
MsElaneous

I’m a rather poor college student trying to get into fashion (I’ve mostly been a jeans and t-shirts kinda girl, but I started shopping at ModCloth about a year ago and am trying to break into it). The problem is, I have a budget of about $100/month for clothes, if that. I know I’ll only be able to buy a piece (maybe two) at a time for my wardrobe, but I don’t know where to start. Any help?

posted about 7 years ago
notorioushoot
Style_council
notorioushoot

Internet for fashion inspiration: chictopia is a great place! :)
Thrift stores such as Goodwill and Salvation Army (some of the most known): Cheap items.
Couponing can help and so can keeping track of sales and deals!

You can also try to turn in your old clothes at places such as Plato’s closet: If they accept your clothes, you’ll get money to spend! Kind of like a consignment shop.

posted about 7 years ago

catiebeatty
Forum_moderator
catiebeatty

Don’t shop at ModCloth. They’re sooo overpriced and everything is just copied from vintage styles anyway. Go to vintage and thrift stores and figure out what you like! Plus, thrift store prices won’t hurt so much, if you decide you don’t like the things you bought.

posted about 7 years ago

MsElaneous
New_user MsElaneous is new to Chictopia!

10 points - Become a fan

When MsElaneous reaches 200 Chic Points, she will be in the Style Council!
MsElaneous

What are the best basics to start with? I love quirky items, but I want to build up a solid base before really looking at some of the more special stuff.

posted about 7 years ago

KateSeverson
New_user KateSeverson is new to Chictopia!

10 points - Become a fan